Fat-Free Pumpkin Cheesecake Brownies, Could it Be?

Standard
Fat-Free Pumpkin Cheesecake Brownies, Could it Be?

Pin It

Initially, I was going to write some maudlin post about how sad and terrible Sundays are for working moms. You have to do all of the chores you neglected on Saturday, go grocery shopping with all of the men amateurs, get ready for the week ahead, and somehow prepare a delightful Sunday dinner. Woe is me. However, then I came across a recipe for pumpkin cheesecake brownies. Then, I made them fat-free. Glory be! Husband asked, “Do they taste fat-free?” The answer is decidedly no.

This recipe violates some of my core beliefs on baking (i.e. making everything from scratch). However, my brownie recipe (will post later) is decidedly not fat-free and I need to get back down to my P.B. size. Also, I promise to start taking pictures on my real camera as opposed to my phone.

Fat-Free Pumpkin Cheesecake Brownies

1 package of Trader Joe’s Reduced Guilt Brownie Mix

2/3 c. Non-fat Greek Yogurt

1 tsp. Vanilla extract

~3 Tb Water

2 oz Non-fat cream cheese, softened

1/4 Sugar

1 Tb Flour

1/2 c. Pumpkin puree

1 tsp Cinnamon

1/2 tsp Nutmeg

1/2 tsp Ginger

Dash of cloves

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 and spray a 9X13 pan with cooking spray
  2. Take Trader Joe’s Reduced Guilt Brownie Mix (TJ’s, you should pay me for all of the advertisement I’ve done in the last two posts) and use 2/3 cup of non-fat Greek yogurt and a teaspoon of vanilla. The mix will be slightly thick, so add a little water (I probably used less than a 1/4 cup) to thin it out to the right batter consistency.
  3. Poor the batter into the prepared baking pan.
  4. In a small bowl, mix together 2 oz of softened non-fat cream cheese, a 1/4 of sugar, and a Tb of flour. It should look like cream cheese icing.
  5. Mix in pumpkin puree and spices.
  6. Drop by spoon-fulls over the brownie batter and take a butter knife to make fancy designs on the top to make it all swirly and pretty.
  7. Bake based on brownie mix instructions. The box says 22-27 minutes, but mine took closer to a half an hour. Just be sure that when you stick a toothpick in, it comes out clean.
  8. Enjoy with a nice mug of French roast coffee or a glass of milk.

Pin It

One response »

Leave a Reply

