France-iversary Brussels Sprouts Salad

Standard
France-iversary Brussels Sprouts Salad

Pin It

Eight years ago today, I arrived for my study abroad experience in France. It’s a little strange that I remember the exact date, but dates stick out to me and this was a life changing day. As a giant Francophile, I don’t often admit that French food isn’t my favorite. I like it, and I’ll never turn down  pain au chocolat, but generally, it’s not my thing. However, my host mom was a PHENOMENAL cook. I wish I had been a more adventurous eater back then so that I could have enjoyed all of the grandeur of her food. There were several times that I finished dinner at 8 or 9:00 and lay in bed at 1:00 a.m. still feeling so full I wanted to puke. Granted, it’s rude in France to not clean your plate, but the sheer amazingness of her cooking made you keep wanting to take more food. In any case, she used to make a delightful salad dressing that was so deceptively simple yet so amazing. She put this dressing on endives and tomatoes mostly, but I decided to top my Brussels Sprout salad with it (Hubs and I are very into Brussels Sprouts right now).


Warm Brussels Sprout Salad

Salad
10 Brussels Sprouts, ends trimmed
1/2 c chopped onion
1 clove garlic, minced
1 Tb olive oil
Romaine lettuce
1 tomato, diced
salt to taste

Dressing
1 heaping Tb of Dijon mustard (spicier, the better, but not with whole grains)
1-2 Tb olive oil (check the consistency)
1 tsp red wine vinegar
salt to taste

  1. Heat olive oil in a medium sautee pan over medium heat
  2. Sautee the onions and garlic until they start to become tender (about 1 minute)
  3. Thinly slice the Brussels sprouts either with a mandolin, food processor or a plain old knife (I used a knife)
  4. Add the B. sprouts to the pan and coat with the olive oil, onion and garlic mixture. Keep them in there until they start to become more tender and wilt slightly (about 4-5 min). Add a little salt as they’re cooking.
  5. While the B. sprouts are cooking, in a small bowl whisk together the Dijon mustard, olive oil and red wine vinegar. The dressing should have a bite to it, so adjust the amounts of mustard and vinegar to your liking.
  6. When the B. sprouts are a nice green color (they should look something like the lettuce), pour the contents of the entire pan over the roughly chopped lettuce and diced tomato. Toss with the dressing and serve.

I served this with my Garam Masala Pumpkin Risotto (recipe, coming soon). It’s a nice light salad to go with something heavy like risotto. Bon app!

Leave a Reply

