Tiger Mother?

Standard

This morning was a low point for an aspiring tiger mother/mother living in Snoburbia. In my county, registration for recreational activities starts at 6:30 a.m. Today was the opening day for registering for swimming lessons and I had a near meltdown before 7:00 a.m.

You might be thinking, “But, Amber, Ben is only 6 months old. Why does he need to be in swimming lessons?” In normal world, you might be correct. But, as I swore at my computer for going so slowly and Husband tried to console me that I could sign him up when I got to work, the only thing I could think of was that Ben was going to fall behind if he didn’t get into some class. Why the crazy? The only reason my computer was going so slowly was because every other mom in the county was trying to sign her kid up for swimming lessons. In this county, your child should really be in activities in utero. Bonus points if you do prenatal yoga. I failed on prenatal yoga, so I was going to be sure to get Ben into swimming lessons.

As a result, I broke many laws driving to work as I frantically tried to sign him up via my phone (sorry, police officers!). In real life, logical me would have said, “Amber, you’re insane.” However, in crazed Mommyworld, logic was not my strong suit. In retrospect, this morning’s incident really put motherhood into perspective for me. Generally, I’m an A-/B+ personality. I’m not quite laid back enough to be a type-B personality, but I operate too much under the “good enough” school to be a Type-A personality. If it were swimming lessons or any other class for me, I probably would have waited until the last possible second to register and when the class was full, called up the recreation board and feigned like I signed up and never gotten a receipt, so please won’t you let me in? Not with Ben. I literally watched my watch until it struck 6:30 and I could register. They say you learn something new every day. Today I learned that I might not take my own life seriously, but don’t mess with my kid’s activities.

Leave a Reply

