Baby Smiles

Standard
Baby Smiles

Today started out pretty horrifically. Ben was up from 3:00-4:00 a.m. with teething issues. He rattled his pacifier on the bars of his crib like a prisoner with a tin cup for about 10 minutes between 3:30-3:40. This would have been hilarious had it not been at 3:30 in the morning. My getting ready process went off without a hitch, but when I was almost to school I got a text message that school had no power but we would continue the day as usual. Unfortunately, I had been planning to show a video to my students. Not possible. Needed to plan a lesson by the seat of my pants. Annoying. First period finished with the power coming back on–major bummer because we could have been sent home had the power held out until 9:00. By the time homeroom rolled around, I was a Crabby Appleton. To make matters worse, one of my children in homeroom decided that it was necessary to get into my face and yell at me for giving him a detention for leaving the room without permission. The cherry on top? I started losing my voice at the end of the day. By the time 3:00 rolled around, I was ready to move to Australia like Alexander from Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.

HOWEVER! Babies have some sort of palliative voodoo. Just thinking about them makes you feel better. The whole drive back from school to pick up Ben, I was able to enjoy the sunshine and 75 degree weather and think about my boy. When I got to daycare, two big blue eyes lit up when they saw me. Smiling baby eyes can melt away any bad day. Add a nice run with the baby boy on a warm March evening and your whole day turns around. Anytime I think about how much more complicated my life has become since having Ben, I can think about all the joy and love he has brought me. Words cannot describe how happy and lucky I am that I have him. Thanks, Ben, for being awesome!

Leave a Reply

