Best Turkey Burgers

Standard
Best Turkey Burgers

Fact: I am one of the worst people in the world to take to a cook-out. You might ask yourself, “Why don’t you enjoy that great American pass-time, Amber?” Well, I enjoy everything else that goes into a cook-out like summer, friends, and a cold brewski, but I cannot abide normal cookout food. I try really, really, really hard to be open minded about food, but there are certain things I just cannot stand.

  1. Hot dogs. I have not eaten a hot dog since 1988. Why 1988? Well, let’s just say that I went to a carnival, had a hot dog, and rode The Spider one too many times not knowing that I have terrible motion sickness. Yeah. That was the end of that. No, I don’t miss hot dogs. I think that they are vile creations. I cannot touch them, smell them, or *shiver* cook them. The thought of even buying one freaks me out. My taste aversion borders on a phobia. If Ben ever wants to have a hot dog or its flattened cousin bologna, he’s going to have to talk to someone else.
  2. Mayonnaise. I hate mayo. It is the Devil’s condiment that has somehow worked its way into delicious pasta salads and has tarnished very promising potato dishes. As a Francophile I should love mayo. The French like to put it on everything. Like hot dogs, I find mayo to be foul. I can eat it SOMETIMES in dips if, and only if, I can’t taste its grossness. Therefore, it’s not quite on par with hot dogs, but close.
  3. Ground beef. Why don’t I like ground beef? Well, it’s not part of my trifecta of disgusting with hot dogs, mayonnaise and mushrooms, but I’d rather not eat it. I’m weird about it. I think it’s a texture thing. But, if there is absolutely nothing else to eat, I’ll eat a hamburger.

QED, I am a terrible patron of cook0uts.

But, a couple of years ago, Husband came out with the cure to all of my cookout woes: the greatest turkey burger you’ve ever eaten. I’m not kidding. This is the best turkey burger I’ve ever had. Bobby’s Burger Palace (owned by Bobby Flay) recently opened up in College Park, MD and I had one of their turkey burgers–not as good as Husband’s. This past Sunday it was a delightful 82 degrees and sunny here in the D.C. area, so I begged Husband to make his turkey burgers. Then, he so graciously offered to give me the recipe for this blog AND he took this picture. Another bonus to this recipe is that it sneaks in vegetables for kids who are picky eaters. Sometimes if Husband is feeling crazy, he’ll finely dice up some zucchini and to put in the burgers. Husband is crazy sometimes, but he’s pretty great 🙂

Husband’s Turkey Burgers

Makes 4-6 burgers, depending on size


1 1/4 lb ground turkey (we use 93% fat-free)
3/4 cup Italian bread crumbs
1/4 cup Old Bay Seasoning (a must have for any Marylander)
1 Tb garlic powder
1 tsp black pepper
1/4 grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 c FINELY (approx. 1/4″) diced green pepper
1/4 c FINELY (approx. 1/4″) diced green onion
1 egg
2 Tb Worcester sauce
1 tsp horseradish

  1. Place meat in a large bowl.
  2. In a smaller bowl, combine the bread crumbs, Old Bay, garlic, and black pepper. Mix into the meat (using your hands, baby!).
  3. To the meat mixture, add in the FINELY, FINELY diced vegetables. If they are not small enough, the burgers will fall apart. Husband uses the Slap Chop, but patience (which I don’t have) and a sharp knife will do it.
  4. Mix in the remaining wet ingredients until well combined.
  5. Cook until well-done and no pink remains. Unlike ground beef, it’s poor form to eat undercooked turkey. Poor form that can lead to salmonella!
  6. Toward the end of cooking, add a slice of cheese if you’re feeling crazy. Munster is a family favorite in our house.

Enjoy on a toasted whole wheat bun. I made a green salad with my Dijon vinaigrette dressing found here.

Perfection on a Sunday!
*Photo credit: Husband

Leave a Reply

