Sunday Funday-Dining Al Fresco

Standard

Sundays are a big deal in my world. Sundays are for hanging out and enjoying your family. Today, Husband, Ben, and I did just that. The day started out delightfully with Ben sleeping until 8:00 after getting his pacifier at 6:00. He is also developing cold number 75 of the year, so he slept a lot today. Here he is during his first nap. This sleeping position is very reminiscent of my own.

Sleeping with your butt in the air is where it's at.

During Ben’s nap, Husband went for a nice long run and I hung out watching trashy TV–namely the Royal Wedding. I am a giant geek. Oh well. Later in the afternoon, after we were all well rested, Husband suggested that we go to the batting cages. The Faculty v. Student softball game is rapidly approaching, so I need to get my hitting in order. I will definitely not be batting clean-up, but we had fun at the cages!

Ben and I getting our baseball on

After the batting cages, we came home and I went for a wussy run. Just wasn’t feeling it in the late afternoon. What I was feeling was dining al fresco. I made a nice spring risotto with broccoli, asparagus, and lemon chicken. I jazzed up my Spring Risotto recipe and cut out some of the butter and olive oil. The only real change is that you mix in the blanched vegetables and baked chicken (take 2 chicken breasts and cover with lemon pepper seasoning and bake at 375 for 20-25 minutes) at the very end.

One bunch of asparagus cut into 1 inch segments and 2 cups of broccoli florets blanched

While I was cooking, husband set-up our outdoor dining set and turned on some Frank Sinatra. We all (including Jack) had a delightful dinner in the late April evening. After dinner, Husband (who is great) made surprise Thin Mint milk shakes. I’m not totally sure what he did, but they tasted awesome. The whole day made me itch for summer! Four more weeks!

Risotto with Chicken, Asparagus, and Broccoli

Leave a Reply

