Summer in the Suburbs

Standard
Summer in the Suburbs

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: I love summer. In particular, I love this summer. During the school year, I only get a precious few hours a day with Ben. On some cross-country practice nights I only get from 6:30-8:00 with him. Those hours are some of Ben’s worst. He turns into a bit of a hobgoblin after 7:00 p.m. Other days, I get from 4:00 until 8:00. In total, roughly 15 waking hours during the week is simply not enough.

Yes, it’s nice not having to go to work, but the reason why this summer is so amazing is that I get to see Ben develop his personality. I get to see how he is that kid who will play and play and play and play until he passes out. I get to hear him yammer on in his “bubble language” of bahs, burbles, and motorboat sounds. I get to watch him laugh hysterically at the dog and the dog’s patience with his human puppy brother. I get to enjoy swimming with my water baby as he goes nuts trying to chase after an orange ping-pong ball. Even though he recently learned how to climb the stairs and insists on finding everything dangerous to get into, I love hanging with my boyfriend. It’s exhausting, but it’s totally worth it.

A blurry display of Ben’s excitement for going to his first baseball of the Baltimore Orioles versus the Washington Nationals.

One response »

Leave a Reply

