Getting By with a Little Help From Friends

Standard

Last night there were crazy storms in D.C. I’m from the Midwest and I don’t freak out from a little thunderstorm, but these storms actually made me nervous. At one point, there was so much lightning that it was like a strobe light outside. Needless to say, we lost power. I say needless because we always lose power here. We have lost power more in the past 3 years in our house than we did my entire time living in Illinois. It’s a little ridiculous. In any case, we lost power on the hottest night of the year. At 8:00 p.m. it was 99 degrees with a heat index of 102.

Thankfully, our house stayed pretty cool, but when we woke up at 6:00 and there was no end of the power outage in sight, I was REALLY grumpy. Really, really, really grumpy. I am a creature of habit and because of the outage I wasn’t going to be able to get my coffee or my morning cereal. No bueno. Enter, Husband. Husband called one of our friends who, luckily, had power and confirmed that we could spend our 90+ degree day over at his house. From there, our day totally turned around. It’s amazing what the promise of electricity, coffee, and breakfast will for you. Our refugee camp provider has been so hospitable, especially with a 10 month old baby who is loud, smelly, and filled with mischief. It’s amazing what friends can put up with and provide. I am beyond grateful.

After being SO whiny this morning, I had to think about my time in Africa when power outages were the norm and having electricity was a luxury. The situation could be much, much worse. However, our power outages in Abidjan, while more frequent than in D.C., were much shorter. We’re going on 24 hours of no power, and being refugees gets pretty old. I just have to keep reminding myself that I am so lucky in other aspects of life that this is just another annoying inconvenience. A REALLY annoying inconvenience, but just an inconvenience.

About babyponderings

I am a mother, wife and teacher living in Maryland and trying to find balance. Originally, I'm from the Chicago area, but moved to the Midatlantic for graduate school. I love to travel, cook, run, read and try new things.

One response »

  1. Hang in there! I’m sure Pepco will have the lights on soon (haha). Seriously, fingers crossed!! And if it’s still not on tomorrow, you guys can come hang with us.

Leave a Reply

