Running When You Don’t Want To

Standard

Today was one of those days when I didn’t want to run. It wasn’t like it was gross out, or early, or anything like that. In fact, for the grand scheme it wasn’t that bad of a day for January. Windy, but not bad. I just had no motivation. While I was whining about not wanting to go, Husband looked at me and said, “Just go.” Husband is a wise man. He knows many things about me. One of those things is that I would regret not running if I didn’t go. He also knew that I would be mad at myself and horrible to deal with the rest of the day without running.  Finally, he knew that sometimes you just need someone to tell you to go.

So, I went. I was glad that I did. My compromise with myself was that I wasn’t going to go as far as I had initially planned. As I was running, the thoughts that kept me going were the goals I had set for myself. I have my half in March, I’d like to do at least one full this year, and I want to run 1,000 miles. Keeping those thoughts in mind really helped me as the wind was hitting me, my ankles were sore, and the devil on my shoulder said, “It would be so nice to be sitting on the couch right now.” Sometimes, it’s the little things; and sometimes you have to keep the big picture in perspective.

Also, one thing I’ve learned from distance running and one quote I keep in mind is, “Do a little more each day than you think you possibly can.” Lowell Thomas’s quote is so appropriate. Often, when I’m on my long runs, I pick a point, and then I push myself further just to break that mental barrier. We always tell the Cross Country kids to get out of their comfort zones–push your mental boundaries. So much of running in mental. Most people are physically capable of running far; it’s just the mental desire that causes them problems. Today I pushed beyond my mental boundaries and I’m glad for it.

Leave a Reply

