Inauguration Dinner

Standard

Well, none of us went to the Inauguration today. As DC-area residents, Inauguration Day means another day off. Despite not seeing the inauguration, it turned out to be a great day. I had a delightful lunch with some friends at the always wonderful Mandalay, a Burmese restaurant. Sadly for me, my boys still needed dinner even if I was full with Mango Salad and Veggie 6. (Yum!)

This meal is all-American, really tasty, and perfect for a winter’s inauguration day. Growing up in the Midwest, I should love me some meatloaf. Sadly, I usually hate everything  that comes in a “loaf” that isn’t bread. I always tease my mom that whenever there is a shower (baby or bridal), she suggests a sandwich loaf. I’m not a fan of the sandwich loaf, meatloaf, seafood loaf. Whatever. Husband loves meatloaf, but I’m weird about meat.  Until, I came across a Giada DeLaurentiis recipe for a Mediterranean Meatloaf that I altered for our purposes. Ben has been a sick and grumpy guy lately, but he also enjoyed this meal. Working moms, rejoice! This is an easy recipe and the baking time is great for clean-up and helping kids with homework. We really like this recipe, so I hope you do, too!

Mediterranean Meatloaf

Serves 4-6 (depending on the size of the person!)
15 minutes hands-on and 45 baking
1 lb. ground turkey
1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs
1/2 cup Fat-Free feta
1/4 chopped sun-dried tomatoes
2 eggs, room temperature, slightly beaten
2 cloves minced garlic
1 tsp. salt
pepper to taste

  1. Preheat an oven to 375 and spray a 9X5 loaf pan with non-stick spray.
  2. In a large bowl, mix all of the ingredients together, but don’t over mix.
  3. Spread into the loaf pan and then bake for 45 minutes in the preheated oven.
  4. When you remove the loaf from the oven, let it rest for 5 minutes before cutting.
  5. Serve with your favorite sides!

In addition to the meatloaf, I made some garlic and lemon green beans. Simple, and delightful, made from this recipe. Sometimes I serve this meatloaf with a tzatziki sauce. It doesn’t really need it (it’s surprisingly moist even with the turkey), but it adds a nice cooling texture.

Mediterranean Meatloaf with Lemon Garlic Green Beans

Mediterranean Meatloaf with Lemon Garlic Green Beans

For dessert, I made Mexican Chocolate ice cream. This is Husband’s favorite ice cream to date. I will say that you can substitute higher fat dairy products to make this recipe richer and creamier. I like to keep the recipe lean, but the ice cream doesn’t come out as silky as if I were using high fat content. To each her own!

Mexican Chocolate Ice Cream

Makes 14 1/2-cup servings
2 cups Nonfat Milk
2.5 cups Nonfat Half-and-Half
1 cup unsweetened baking chocolate
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp cayenne
1/4 tsp salt

Army of ingredients for Mexican Chocolate Ice Cream

Army of ingredients for Mexican Chocolate Ice Cream

  1. In a medium bowl, combine the dry ingredients until well-mixed.
  2. Pour in the milk, half-and-half, and vanilla, and mix in a hand mixer for 1-2 minutes until all of the sugar is dissolved.
  3. Turn on ice cream machine and pour in the liquid. Follow machine’s instructions.
Mexican Chocolate Ice Cream....Sooooo good!

Mexican Chocolate Ice Cream….Sooooo good!

Nutrition: 139 calories per serving, 4.1 grams of fat, 2.7 grams of saturated fat

Leave a Reply

