The Running Oracle

Standard

Ben may, in fact, be the Oracle of Marathon. How so? This morning I got up early (4:00 a.m.) to run before the icy weather from Winter Storm Luna came through (total sidebar, but I love how they name winter storms now). After getting through some of Les Mis, I was off to get bundled up for the run. As I was just about to put on my shoes, Ben began to wail. Husband and I let him go for a minute, but I finally caved and went to get him. He clung to me like a baby koala bear instead of thrashing irrationally, so I knew that he had had a bad dream. I put him in bed with Husband and went downstairs to head out. Then, the freezing rain started and I knew that running was a terrible idea. The Oracle of Marathon had struck again. His bad dream was telling me not to run. Sigh.

This would have been fine, but then 10 minutes later, I got a text from the school district saying that there was a delayed opening for school. Again, normally, this would have been fine. So, I went back to bed thinking that I might be able to get a few more winks of sleep. Sadly, Ben has a tendency to act like a baby velociraptor when he doesn’t want to sleep. He makes this horrible sound that is part screech-part cry and thrashes with nails like tiny razor blades (really need to cut those…). Now I have a scratch on my nose (granted, it’s partially my fault). Sleep was a no-go, so I decided to watch last night’s Downton Abbey. That was a terrible and depressing idea. All-in-all, not a great morning and a wasted late arrival, but I suppose the week can only get better?

Leave a Reply

