Hello, Humidity

Standard

“Hello, Humidity.” Imagine saying that in the, “Hello, Newman” voice. This year, Mother Nature decided that Spring was for chumps and fast-forwarded to Summer. I’m not complaining, but the rapid shift in temperature can really hurt the running sitch. Today was my first semi-official day of summer and I decided to run all the miles! Not a genius plan when there was an orange air quality day and it was 80 degrees with 70% humidity at 7:30 a.m. Eight miles at slightly slower than race pace turned into seven and a half at “this is not how I want to die” pace. Here’s a really gross picture of how I looked when I got done.

I'm a sweaty beast. This is after I cooled off a little bit. I'm glad I already have Husband because no one would like me if they saw me like this.

I’m a sweaty beast. This is after I cooled off a little bit. I’m glad I already have Husband because no one would like me if they saw me like this.

Please note that my tank top was a much lighter purple pre-run. DC Summers are great for making you look like you went swimming in your clothes.

While runs make you hot and sticky, the only thing better than a shower and froyo after a long, sweaty run is a shower and froyo after a long, sweaty trail run. While there was no trails on today’s run, Ben and I still treated ourselves to a little froyo later in the day. We added “kinkles” (sprinkles), which was a HUGE hit. Highly recommended.

Kinkles 4 eva!

Kinkles 4 eva!

Leave a Reply

