What do I do with myself?

Standard

It’s been awhile! As a competitive runner, one of the oddest, yet most freeing feelings is not being in the middle of training for something. I have pretty much been training for some race or another since January and with the completion of Cross-Country season I’m not quite sure what to do with myself. In the height of the training season, I was coaching about 6 hours during the week, had 5-6 hours for meets on Saturday, and 2-3 hours worth of running on Sundays. Now I have about 12-15 hours extra per week. It is so odd to not *have* to run.

funny gifs

I do what I want.

For example, this morning I woke up early to go for a run before Husband had to go in for overtime work. It was SUPER foggy outside and I really liked my book so I said, “I don’t want to go run and I don’t have to.” It was liberating. However, because I can run or not run, one of the things I have been doing is making huge vats of soup to eat for lunch during the week. This week’s soup is a Red Lentil and Turnip soup that is incredibly delicious and healthy. Here’s the recipe.

Red Lentil and Turnip Soup

(serves 12; about 15 minutes of prep and 30 minutes of cook time)

3 cups dry red lentils, rinsed

5 small-ish turnips peeled and cubed

2 cups of carrots, roughly chopped

2 cups of celery, roughly chopped

1 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes NOT DRAINED

2 onions, diced

6 cloves of garlic, minced

2 Tb butter (add olive oil to make vegan)

2 Tb olive oil

4 cups vegetable stock

4 cups of water

1/4 cup chopped parsely

3 Tb red wine vinegar

Salt and pepper to taste

  1. In a large soup pot, melt butter and olive oil over medium heat.
  2. Sauté the onions, garlic, celery and carrots until tender (approximately 7 minutes.
  3. Add the tomatoes and sauté for about a minute and then stir in the lentils.
  4. Once the lentils are coated in the butter/veggie mixture, add in the turnips, stock and water. Stir and let simmer for 20-25 or until the lentils are tender.
  5. After the lentils are tender, remove from the heat and add the parsley, salt, pepper, and vinegar. I like mine tart, so I added quite a bit of vinegar, but adjust to your enjoyment.
Lentil and Turnip Soup. I had never had a turnip before this day. It worked out well!

Lentil and Turnip Soup. It may not be pretty, but it’s tasty!

Leave a Reply

